Fiscal Court

The Kentucky Constitution of 1891 gave the name "Fiscal Court" to the body in each county that would act as that county's government. In Owen County, the Fiscal Court is composed of a county judge/executive and four magistrates. Each member of the Fiscal Court serves a four-year term.

Meet the Magistrates











Attending a Fiscal Court meeting

The Owen County Fiscal Court meets at 6 p.m. on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month unless otherwise scheduled. Notice of special meetings will be posted on the courthouse door, 100 N. Thomas St., Owenton, KY 40359, at least 24-hours prior to the special meeting. 

County residents are invited and encouraged to attend all fiscal court meetings. The fiscal court is responsible for setting policy, enacting ordinances, approving the budget and voting on all fiscal matters which pertain to a variety of direct and indirect county services including roads, public safety, parks and recreation, etc.

Addressing the Fiscal Court

Individuals who wish to address the Fiscal Court should call the Owen County Judge/Executive's Office at (502) 484-3405 prior to the meeting to be added to the agenda or sign the sign-in sheet at the entrance of the courtroom upon arriving at the meeting. Individuals placed on the agenda will be given three minutes to address the court.


Todd Spurgeon

1st District Magistrate

Serving New Liberty, Bromley, Jonesville and North Owenton 

Office: (502) 741-3208


Stuart Bowling

2nd District Magistrate

Serving South Owenton and Owenton

Office: (502) 750-1183


Wayne Harris

3rd District Magistrate 

Serving New Columbus, Lusby’s Mill, Bethany

and Hesler

Office: (502) 514-1371


Chad Rose

4th District Magistrate 

Serving Wheatley, Gratz and Monterey

Office: (513) 543-3174