Owen County Sheriff's Office

ANNOUNCEMENT: The ongoing pandemic has resulted in the delayed mailing of the 2020 tax bills. Owen County residents should receive their tax bills by Monday, Nov. 2. The collection date for the 2% discount will be from Nov. 2 through Nov. 30, 2020. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

The sheriff serves as a law enforcement official, collects the county property taxes, provides court security and other services required by statute. The sheriff and his deputies provide 24-hour patrol and are dispatched through Kentucky State Police Post 5 Campbellsburg. In case of an emergency, dial 911. 

Frequently asked questions

What documentation do I need for an out-of-state vehicle inspection?


You will need the title, your driver’s license, and $5 for the inspection fee.




Where do I go to get my vehicle inspected?


The sheriff’s office is located at 102 N. Madison St., Owenton. For an additional $10 fee, you may call and request a deputy be dispatched to your location for vehicle inspection. You must have the exact amount of $15 in cash or personal check made payable to Owen County Sheriff. Deputies do not carry change. If a receipt is required, you will need to contact the office during normal office hours.




When are property taxes due?


The Owen County Sheriff’s Office is responsible for collecting taxes for Owen County. Tax bills are normally mailed out at the end of September, with collection beginning Oct. 1 each year. Your tax bill will include the amount due.




What can I do to avoid penalties on property taxes?


Property tax bills include the following amounts:

  • Discount Amount
  • Face Amount
  • 5% Penalty Amount
  • 21% Penalty Amount
To avoid any penalty charges, please pay before the discount or face amount deadlines.




How can I renew my Carry A Concealed Deadly Weapon (CCDW) license?


To renew your CCDW license, you will need the renewal application, a printed color photo, the renewal fee (check payable to Kentucky Treasurer, $40, and check payable to Owen County Sheriff, $20). If you have moved since your license was issued, you will need to come into the office and fill out a change of personal information form.





Gobierno del condado de Owen

Acerca de

© 2020 Gobierno del Condado de Owen, Todos los derechos reservados

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • YouTube