• 1

    Community

  • 2

    Best Kept Secret

  • 3

    Hunting

  • 4

    Recreation

​Frequently Asked Questions

 

Q: Can I call and get information over the phone about recorded information?

A: Yes, if you know the buyer/sellers name and a specific date then certain recorded information can be given over the telephone, otherwise you must come to the County Clerk's Office.

Q: What is the rate on property transfer taxes?

A: The transfer rate on property tax is $1.00 per $1000.00 of the property's sale price.
 

Q: Can I get copies of documents at the County Clerk's Office?

A: Yes. Copies can be made by you for $0.10 per page in the copier in the Record Room. A certified copy is $5.00.
 
 

Q: Will the County Clerk's employees call if documents are incomplete or fail to meet Kentucky Statute requirements for recording?

 
A: No. However, Recorders will prepare a rejection form and include it with the rejected document as method of explanation.
 
 

Q: What is the most common mistake made that causes the rejection of paperwork from the Recording Department?

 
A: The most common mistake is not including a Preparation Statement. A Preparation Statement must include the printed or typed name, address, city, state, zip code and signature of the individual that prepared the documents that will be recorded.
 

Q: Is it necessary to have the Assignment document notarized?

A: Yes
 

Q: How are individual names indexed?

A: The names of individuals are indexed as they appear on the document. The surname if followed by the given name and the middle name or initial.
 

Q: How are firms names indexed?

 
A: Firm names are indexed as they appear on the document. The indexed name begins in the surname field and continues through the middle name field.
 

Q: Are dashes, commas, periods, and hyphens included in the indexing of names?

 
A: No. A space is used in place of all dashes, commas, periods, and hyphens that appear in the name.
 

Q: When indexing a firm name is the word "The" used as the first word in the indexed name?

 
A: No.

Corrected Or Updated Title - $6.00


Duplicate Kentucky Title - $6.00

 

First Time Or Out Of State Vehicles Title And Registration

    • Kentucky Title Fee - reveived within 4-6 weeks: $9.00

    • Kentucky Speed Title Fee - printed and mailed the day of application: $25.00

    • Title Lien Statement Recording Fee: $22.00

    • Maximum registration fee for twelve months is $21.00

 

Handicap Parking Permits

    • Placard valid for two (2) years and may be renewed for two (2) additional two (2) year periods at no charge

    • A second (additional) placard may be issued at no charge

    • Temporary permit (valid for a period of no more than (3) three months) may be issued at no charge

 

New Vehicle Titling And Registration

    • Kentucky Title Fee - Title to be received within 4-6 weeks: $9.00

    • Kentucky Speed Title Fee - Printed and mailed the day of application: $25.00

    • Title Lien Statement Recording Fee: $22.00

    • Maximum registration fee for twelve months is $21.00 for standard automobiles and commercial 10,000 lb trucks

NOTE: Additional fees apply if the application is prepared and notarized by the County Clerk's Office

 

Renewal Of A Kentucky Registration

    • Automobile: $21.00

    • Trucks (commercial/10,000 lbs): $21.00

    • Motorcycles: $18.50

    • Weighted Trucks & Trailers: Fees determined by the weight and type

    • Mail-in Service: $2.00 postage and handling

 

Transfer Of A Kentucky Titled Vehicle

    • Kentucky Title Fee - Received within 4-6 weeks: $9.00

    • Kentucky Speed Title Fee - Printed and mailed the day of application: $25.00

    • Title Lien Statement Recording Fee: $22.00

    • Maximum registration fee for twelve months is $21.00

Mobile Homes

Conversion To Real Estate

Documents needed to convert mobile homes to real estate property are:
 
    • The Kentucky certificate of title (clear of all liens) surrendered to the county clerk.
    • An affidavit of conversion to real estate, along with the certificate of title are filed in the real estate section of the County Clerk’s Office.

Title

    • Ceritficate of origin application for registration (TC 96-182) 
    • Title lien statement (if there is going to be a lien filed) (TC 96-187)

     

Transfer

    • Required documents are KY certificate of title
    • No photo copies. Photo copies are not acceptable

 

Previously Owned Mobile Home

227.605 Class B1 seal required prior to sale or use as a dwelling of previously owned manufactured or mobile home transported into Commonwealth Homes installed before July 13, 2004 excepted.
 
    1. No person shall transport into the Commonwealth of Kentucky any previously owned manufactured or mobile home for the purpose of resale or use of a dwelling in the Commonwealth of Kentucky unless the previously owned manufactured or mobile home has a B1 seal atached to it prior to resale or use as a dwelling. The application and certification procedures for the attachment of the B1 Seal prior to the resale or occupancy of the manufactured or mobile home shall be set out by the office through the promulgation of administrative regulations in accordance with the provisions of KRS Chapter 13A. Nothing in this section shall require a person who owns a manufactured or mobile home in another state and who transports that manufactured or mobile home into the Commonwealth of Kentucky to use as that person's dwelling to obtain a Class B seal.
    2. Expect for manufactured or mobile homes installed within the Commonwealth of Kentucky before July 13, 2004, no person shall sell, lease, rent, or furnish for use as or mobile home that does not bear a B1 Seal and which is not installed in compliance with the manufacturer's instructions, if available, or ANSI 225.1, Manufactured Home Installations. Form available in clerk's office.

 

Trailers

Registration / Renewal

Certificate of registration submitted with payment for tax and license.

 
    • Title
    • Certificate of origin
    • Application for registration (TC 96-182)
    • Title lien statement (if there is going to be a lien filed) (TC 96-187)

Transfer

    • Required documents are KY certificate of title
    • No photo copies. Photo copies are not acceptable
Note: Titles containing AND (instead of OR) between the names of the of owners require that all owners sign the document.

 

Junk Title

Required documents to junk a vehicle are the title and the license plate.The title must be clear of all liens, all property taxes must be paid or exonerated by the PVA. If a title and/or plate have been lost form #TC 96-167 must be signed and notarized by the owner.If the title has been lost, a duplicate title must be applied for in order to junk the vehicle.
 

Lien

In order to record a lien on a vehicle, motorboat, mobile home or trailer a title lien statement must be filed, the documents required are:
    • Name of debtor and their address
    • Name of secured party (bank or person lending money) and their mailing address.
    • Description of collateral (year, make, vehicle identification number)
    • Title or copy of the goldenrod if a pending lien has been filed
    • Generally a lien should be filed in the county of the debtors residence.

 

Plate Replacement

    • Requires the current registration
    • Proof of insurance
    • Affidavit for replacement (TC 96-167)

 

Registration/Renewal

Your vehicle license plate/decal must be renewed yearly. Documents required for registration and renewal are:

    • Certificate of registration
    • Proof of insurance
Note: Any and all delinquent taxes must be paid in order to complete the renewal process and also for transfer of a vehicle
Note: The county clerk is the tax collector and does not have the authority to exonerate or change your tax assessments. Questions regarding taxes should be directed to your Property Valuation Administrator at 502.484.5172.
 
 

Tax

The owner of a vehicle on January 1st of each year is responsible for the taxes. Even if you sell that vehicle on January 2nd the tax for that year falls back on you.
 
 

Title

Titles issued prior to February 2000 only have the assignment portion on the back of the certificate of title and would require the VTR form #TC-96-182 along with the title. This is a short title, the newer titles are longer than a standard sheet of paper.
 
 

Transfer

 
To transfer a vehicle the following documents are required:
    • KY certificate of title (clear of all liens)
    • Social security number for each party appearing on the title
    • Current proof of insurance
The title is mailed from the KY Transportation Cabinet and usually arrives in 4-6 weeks if you request a speed title you should receive your title within 4 business days. There is $25.00 fee for a speed title.
 
 

Weighed Plates/Farm Plates

    • Documents needed for renewal of weighted tags:
    • Proof of insurance, certificate of registration
    • Payment of taxes due and the estimated weight of the truck combined with the weight of the trailer combined also with the average weight of the load being transported will be the needed weight of plate
    • Form  #2290 also needed

Subcategories

Owen County Fiscal Court Copyright

© 2016 - 2019 Owen County Government